Chorus

DVMS Music Department Add/Drop Dates

Students currently enrolled in Dunlap Valley Middle School may add/drop choir, orchestra or band courses from their schedules at the beginning of each semester.  

Fall Semester - The deadline for fall semester add/drop is Thursday, August 29, 2019.

Spring Semester - The deadline for spring semester add/drop is Friday, January 17, 2020.

Students who move into the district during a given semester MAY add music courses to their schedule upon enrollment.

Music Information Packet

Music Department Shirt Order Form

Grading information

Compelling Studies Favoring Music Education

Music Calendar

Fall Concert - Monday, October 28

 

Chorus Information

Director of Choirs

The Director of Choirs is Sarah Seymour.

Mrs. Seymour is a graduate of Greenville College and holds a Masters degree in Voice Performance from The Boston Conservatory in Boston, MA. She has taught for 13 years at the elementary, middle school and high school levels. She also maintains a private voice studio. Mrs. Seymour can be reached at 243-1034 or via e-mail: sseymour@dunlapcusd.net.

Full Chorus Rehearsals

Full chorus rehearsals meet on Tuesdays and Thursdays during study hall.

Voice Sectionals

Voice sectionals are organized by voice type and are held one time per week during a study hall (M, W, or F). Rehearsal schedules of students in both instrumental ensembles and choirs will be organized by the music faculty.

Orchestra and Band Students Participating in Chorus

Orchestra and band students participating in chorus is encouraged! Great instrumentalists are often wonderful singers and vice versa. The music department will coordinate with each other so that each student interested in participating in both organizations can do so successfully.

Additional Music Department Information

Band and Orchestra Instruments

Band and orchestra instruments are much like automobiles, all makes and models are not equal! Resale values, ability to acquire parts/repair, and quality of sound varies. Please do not hesitate to contact the music department with questions when buying new or used. We will be glad to arm you with the information you need to make a sound investment.

Kidder Music

Kidder Music services our school district. Their store is located just off Pioneer Parkway directly behind Sherwin-Williams Paint Store on Crestline Drive. They are open Monday through Thursday from 9am-6pm and Friday from 9am–5:30 pm. Saturdays they are open from 9:30am3:30pm. Reeds, oils, supplies, books, music etc for your student can be purchased there. The store phone number is 692-4040. They also have a website at www.kiddermusic.com.

Private Lessons

Private lessons are something many students indicate an interest in. We recommend accomplished adult musicians that we feel are not only excellent musicians on their instruments and voices, but relate well to young people. Please contact the directors for names and phone numbers.

Music Department Dress Code

All 6 through 8th grade musicians will need a music department polo shirt AND t-shirt. These are available to order at the beginning of each school year. Students wear these shirts at concerts, competitions, and music field trips along with black dress pants/skirts, black socks/hose, and SOLID BLACK SHOES. Young ladies should consider the length of skirts when seated.

Sports/Clubs Conflicts

Sports and club conflicts are handled between the music directors and school coaches/administration. MOST of our students are involved in extra-curricular sports or activities such as student council, scholastic bowl, dance, cheerleading, etc. MANY are involved with SEVERAL! It is our philosophy to support our musicians with their talents as best we can

Music Department Grading

Music Department grading is based on practice/preparation, attendance and classroom participation. Specific ensemble expectations and policies will be posted to the school website under Activities.

Study Hall

The most frequently asked question and concern for parents is; “Doesn’t my child NEED their study hall?” It has been our experience that nearly all of our students learn to budget their time wisely. The intellectual and social benefits of a music education are immeasurable.

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, Oct 27
Mon, Oct 28
Tue, Oct 29
Wed, Oct 30
Thu, Oct 31
Fri, Nov 1
Sat, Nov 2
Sun, Nov 3
Mon, Nov 4
Tue, Nov 5
Wed, Nov 6
Thu, Nov 7
Fri, Nov 8
Sat, Nov 9
Sun, Nov 10
Mon, Nov 11
Tue, Nov 12
Wed, Nov 13
Thu, Nov 14
Fri, Nov 15
Sat, Nov 16
Sun, Nov 17
Mon, Nov 18
Tue, Nov 19
Wed, Nov 20
Thu, Nov 21
Fri, Nov 22
Sat, Nov 23
Sun, Nov 24
Mon, Nov 25
Tue, Nov 26
Wed, Nov 27
Thu, Nov 28
Fri, Nov 29
Sat, Nov 30