Banner Elementary School History
The original Banner School was built in 1872 at a cost of $1,989. This was a large sum of money in those days; but it was worthwhile because the County Superintendent, Judge Worthington, pointed the school out to all the other districts as the ideal school. He called it a “banner school,” whence the present name was established. It was the first school in the county to have single seats and desks, which were installed at a cost of $230.
The 1872 Banner School was built because of an increase of students caused by the uniting of District #3 of Medina Township and District #10 of Radnor Township in 1866. The school was known as Union School until the new building was built. The first schoolhouse in this area was a log cabin owned by a Mr. Bristol located about one-half mile north of Banner School. It was built about 1844 and used until 1849, when it was replaced by a new building located about 80 rods east of the Banner School location. This was the building known as Union School and was until the new Banner School was constructed.
Beginning in 1872, Banner School was in continuous service until 1953. At various times, classes from first through twelfth grade were taught. Subjects taught varied from “ABC’s” to trigonometry. Students ranged from five to twenty-two years of age, and enrollment ranged from fifteen to fifty students. The community was justly proud of the new school and looked upon it as the mark of a “liberal and intelligent neighborhood.” It was torn down in 1969.
Yes, Banner School left its mark upon the surrounding community. To serve as a reminder of that rich heritage, three “Allen Bros. 1871” bricks from the old school have been placed in the wall in the current foyer, and the cornerstone and pump from the original building have been place in the cafeteria. It is hoped that the 1980 Banner School (with a six-room addition in 2006), built at the same location as the original school, will continue building upon the rich heritage began by its predecessor.